iFrames in Home Assistant

Home assistant provides two ways to interface with other web pages on websites or on other servers. One is by the use of typical HTML link that most of us are familiar with. The other is by the use of iFrames that allows the embedding of a page inside another.

Sometimes a small feature may be one of the deciding factors in choosing a tool. A year ago, there was no easy way to link to an external site or page from OpenHab.(I am unsure if they have added the feature now.) The ability of adding an iFrame displaying another web page within a page is a big win for me. I have several iFrames in my setup.

As an AEM Architect with experience in building large content management systems and web sites I would not recommend using iFrames in commercial applications. Having said that, they work well with Home Assistant.

In my earlier post I described the MPD server. When Home Assistant is started, it detects all MPD players on the home network. It also provides a small widget to easilycontrol the player and displays status information for the player as shown below.

Now, by using an iFrame I can provide the detailed Rompr interface within Home Assistant for more fine-grained control.

Rompr.png

This gives my home automation system the best of both worlds. While some purists may not agree with my configuration, I see my home automation system as one holistic system that uses the best of all tools. It helps me to search and integrate the best tools available into my system.

Leave a Reply

